Roses and Thorns – Poems by Hasanthi 06

Hasanthi's Book Blog - totalbooklover

Your words were blades,

You stabbed me hard.

And then you reached to me,

and asked,

are you hurt?

But you failed to realize,

that you have broken me into pieces,

And that myself, is beyond recovery,

and shattered forever…………

View original post

You are the storm

anamikaablog


Let them know,
you are not for everyone,
you will always be too much,
reckless and strong.

Let them know
you are the storm

you dance every time,
they ask you to sit down

and every time they
question your voice
expect you to keep quiet,
you scream
and shout
as loud as the
thunder strike,

you are the voice they
don’t want to hear
you are the change
they fear
and
they too know
you are reckless and strong

they know
you are the storm

View original post

R.I.P. Lisa Ewald ~ 1966 – 2020

By Hook Or By Book

AEEC388C-137F-4E48-AC4D-CB402D50CB52

 So many. So, so many people have fallen victim to Covid-19. And as horrible as the increasing death toll is, even more tragic are the healthcare professionals who have also died. Lisa Ewald was an ER nurse of 20 years, working on the frontlines at the Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. She had asthma which put her at a higher risk, but she kept taking care of those who wound up in her ER. She started showing signs of coronavirus the end of March, loss of smell, high fever and a cough. She reportedly told friends she tried to get tested twice. The hospital, citing the CDC guidelines at the time wouldn’t test her until she started showing symptoms. Eventually, when she was tested, she was positive. Sadly, the registered nurse died alone at her home on March 31, four days before her 54th birthday. I honestly don’t know what…

View original post 114 more words

Top Ten Tuesday: Signs You’re a Book Lover

YA on my Mind

Top Ten Tuesday banner

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl, wherein each week bloggers list out their Top Ten.

This week is ‘Signs You’re a Book Lover’ and @ruthsic asked me if I was interested on writing this upcoming Top Ten Tuesday and I thought, why not? This seems like fun!

Here are the top 10 signs that you are probably a book lover 🙂


1) You read instead of sleeping

andy weir GIF

I can’t count the times I’ve stayed up late catching up with my book at night, captivated with the plot and not noticing how fast time is passing and before I know it, It’s freaking 1 Am in the morning. It’s probably the worst quality in a book lover but hey, when we love a book we are dedicated to it.

2) You…

View original post 562 more words

The Captain’s Log – the glass hotel (Emily St. John Mandel)

Captain's Quarters

Ahoy there me mateys!  I adored station eleven and the singer’s gun so much that I got a hold of this book without knowing anything about it other than the author and title.  This is a lovely literary book with just a touch of the supernatural and a touch of murder mystery.  Ultimately though, the heart of the novel is what I think the author does best – intricate character studies that all eventually tie together.

I really want to gush about this novel but I can’t.  Any gushing would just be spoiler-filled and somehow diminish the read.  This is my current best read of the year in terms of writing quality even if there be other novels I emotionally enjoyed reading just a bit more (I love Murderbot!).

Side note: Check out some interesting reviews with the author at npr, book page, and kirkus.  Arrrr!

Goodreads…

View original post 118 more words

Book Review: Stormrise by Jillian Boehme

YA on my Mind

44899440. sy475 Stormrise by Jillian Boehme
My Rating: 3.5-4/5

A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme’s epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training—and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

View original post 740 more words

Book Review: The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

Curiouser and Curiouser

The Color PurpleTitle: The Color Purple
Author: Alice Walker
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Date: 2017 (1982)
Genre: Historical Fiction
Summary: Set in the deep American South between the wars, The Color Purple is the tale of Celie, a young black girl born into poverty and segregation. Raped repeatedly by the man she calls ‘father’, she has two children taken away from her, is separated from her beloved sister Nettie and is trapped into an ugly marriage. But then she meets the glamorous Shug Avery – and magic-maker – a woman who has taken charge of her own destiny. Gradually, Celie discovers the power and joy of her own spirit, freeing her from her past and reuniting her with those she loves.


The Color Purple is an amazing book. I could just end the review here because that’s all I really have to say but I suppose I should explain why it’s amazing…

View original post 345 more words

The Blood Mirror by Brent Weeks

Bookidote

details
Title:The Blood Mirror.
Series: Lightbringer #4.
Writer(s): Brent Weeks.
Publisher: Orbit.
Format: Paperback.
Release Date: July 18th, 2017 (first published November 16th, 2015).
Pages: 736.
Genre(s): Fantasy.
ISBN13:  9780316251327.
My Overall Rating: ★★★★★.

Previously in the Lightbringer series:
The Black Prism by Brent Weeks.
The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks.
The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks.

thoughts

Expeditions. Journeys. Adventures. Innocent at first, epic in the end. The characters who go on them—closely followed by the reader—learn life lessons through trial and error, while encountering the unexpected, as they walk down the roads fate have paved from them. Through these characters, readers experience the inexplainable: the intimate yet distant emotions for someone embarked on an unsolicited mission of self-discovery. By learning their motives, by gauging their willpower, by understanding their reasons…

View original post 642 more words

Loki: Where Mischief Lies – Mackenzi Lee

Kyera's Library

Loki: Where Mischief Lies

Loki: Where Mischief Lies by Mackenzi Lee

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mackenzi Lee tackles Loki’s story through the Marvel lens, blending Norse mythology and storylines with the unique versions of the characters that readers might be familiar with from the Marvel cinematic universe. We meet Loki and Thor as younger, more vulnerable characters for just a short while before the book skips through time and they’re starting to become the characters that we know (and love.) The story and characters felt incredibly familiar if you’re familiar with the MCU, so I think Lee did a fantastic job capturing that feel and tone.

I really enjoyed getting to know Loki when he was younger, full of vulnerabilities and unsure of why he was so different from his family. He always wanted his father to see him the way that he was Thor, as strong and worthy. Instead, Odin saw…

View original post 379 more words